America Celebrates 250 Years of Independence in 2026

Chairman Matt Murell of the Columbia County Board of Supervisors has appointed the following community members to the Semiquincentennial Organizing Committee:

Stuyvesant Supervisor Ron Knott, Kinderhook Supervisor Tim Ooms, Clermont Supervisor Ray Staats, Canaan Supervisor Brenda Adams, County Clerk Holly Tanner, Adam Miller of Columbia County Tourism, Community Liaison Shari Franks and Local Historians: Tom Moreland, Austerlitz; Dawn Brownson, Clermont; Doris Gearing, Canaan; Thomas Shannon, Germantown; Lauren Letellier, Hillsdale; Jeane LaPorta, Claverack; and Elizabeth Sheffer-Winig, New Lebanon.